Bibliography

Filter:

Tide of Shadows and Other Stories

Kindle Nook Kobo Goodreads Excerpt

From Aidan Moher—Hugo Award-winning editor of A Dribble of Ink—comes Tide of Shadows and Other Stories, a collection of five science fiction and fantasy stories spanning adventure, comic whimsy, and powerful drama—from a star-faring military science fiction tale of love and sacrifice, to a romp through the dragon-infested Kingdom of Copperkettle Vale.

Published by A Dribble of Ink

Reviews & Accolades

One of the "May Science Fiction And Fantasy Books Everyone Will Be Talking About." - io9

"Each of the stories is like a little clock: beautifully crafted, intricate, distinctively handmade, with a dozen tiny complications in its inner workings. The range is unreal: space stations, angel wings, fairytale dragons, ancient shadow monsters...all unconnected, and yet it feels like it's all part of a bigger whole. It's exquisite." - Rob Boffard, author of Tracer

"The greatest strengths of this delightful collection lie in its variety and scope. There are only five stories, but Moher makes the most of them, moving easily between rhetorical modes, narrative structures, and invented voices." - Brian Staveley, author of The Emperor's Blades

"Offering a little something for everyone, Tide of Shadows and Other Stories is a collection of tales that know precisely how to engage the reader, and exactly how to find a climax without overstaying their welcome." - Beauty in Ruins

"Highly recommended." - Nerds on Earth

Sword & Laser Anthology

Kindle Nook

From the creators of the Sword & Laser Book Club, twenty never-before-published short stories span the worlds of science fiction and fantasy, inviting readers of both genres to lose themselves in tales sometimes humorous, sometimes terrifying, and always engrossing.

Published by Sword & Laser

Speculative Fiction 2012: The Year’s Best Online Reviews, Essays and Commentary

Kindle

Speculative Fiction celebrates the best in online non-fiction - the top book reviews, essays and commentary of the year. This first volume, edited by bloggers Justin Landon (Staffer's Musings - US) and Jared Shurin (Pornokitsch - UK), collects over fifty pieces from science fiction and fantasy's top authors, bloggers and critics.

Published by Jurassic London

Reviews & Accolades

  • Winner of the British Fantasy Award (Best Non-Fiction)
  • Finalist for the Hugo Awards (Best Related Work)

Speculative Fiction 2013: The Year’s Best Online Reviews, Essays and Commentary

Kindle

Speculative Fiction celebrates the best in online non-fiction - the top book reviews, essays and commentary of the year. The 2013 collection is edited by Ana Grilo and Thea James of The Book Smugglers. Speculative Fiction 2013 collects over fifty pieces from all corners of speculative fiction fandom – from book criticism to incisive commentary on important issues like sexual harassment at conventions; from feminist themes in summer blockbusters to life-changing video games; from the merits of grittiness to the downfalls of grimdark.

Published by Jurassic London

Reviews & Accolades

"This is a book that deserves a loud, hearty recommendation. [...] I found myself getting excited about books I had never read and even more excited about books I had." - Bookpunks

Speculative Fiction 2014: The Year’s Best Online Reviews, Essays and Commentary

Kindle

The Internet has the answers. Speculative Fiction 2014 collects over fifty of the best reviews, essays and media commentary from all facets of SFF. From insightful deconstruction of major blockbuster films, to considered arguments for diversity and inclusivity in science fiction and fantasy, this edition highlights many of the most complex, fraught, and important events in speculative fiction fandom from 2014.

Published by Book Smugglers Publishing

“Tide of Shadows”

Read for free

The bittersweet story of a soldier and his lover, a mother, and a planet-wide genocide. Also available in Tide of Shadows and Other Stories.

Published by A Dribble of Ink

Reviews & Accolades

"What occupies the thoughts and time of a soldier bound for war? Moher does a solid job of suggesting answers to that question by plunging the depths of two lusts: that of the opposite sex and that for revenge." - Chad Waller, We the Nerdy

"[A] strong military SF story with a tight and unexpected focus on one soldier's preparations for battle." - Nerds of a Feather

“The Girl with Wings of Iron and Down”

Read for free

The story of a broken family, a girl with iron wings, and an imperfect utopia. Also available in Tide of Shadows and Other Stories.

Published by A Dribble of Ink

Reviews & Accolades

"The Girl with Wings of Iron and Down is a Twilight Zone sort of tale, full of sadness and loss, with new surprises to be found on every page. It's a story with more questions than answers, with an ending that's beautifully ambiguous." - Bob Milne, Beauty in Ruins

"A hauntingly beautiful tale of a parent’s love! The commingling of freedom imagery and captivity imagery is moving." - Chad Waller, Nerds on Earth

“Please, Judge This Book by Its Cover”

Kindle

An extended interview with several prominent science fiction and fantasy artists and art directors about genre book covers trends.

Published by Uncanny Magazine

“A Night for Spirits and Snowflakes”

Listen

Lost among silent sentinels and falling snow, a young soldier is haunted by the ghosts of his fallen comrades. Also available in Tide of Shadows and Other Stories and The Sword & Laser Anthology.

Published by Far Fetched Fables

Reviews & Accolades

"[A Night for Spirits and Snowflakes] jumps between characters and tenses often, seamlessly working in world building and character development in a very tight confinement." - Chad Waller, We the Nerdy

“The Colour of the Sky on the Day the World Ended”

Read for free

A girl and her ghost dog embark on a quest to find a gift for their grandmother and light in an ash-covered world.

Published by A Dribble of Ink

“The Red-rimmed Eyes of Tóu Ma”

Kindle Nook Kobo Goodreads Grim Oak Press

Accompanied by Tóu Ma, a mischievous fire djinn, and his growing doubts, Farid races to reach O’oa Tsetse before it’s too late; but first he must defeat the deadly warlock and her ghostly Yoo-in.

Published by Grim Oak Press

Speculative Fiction 2015

Edited by Foz Meadows and Mark Oshiro, Speculative Fiction 2015 collects over fifty pieces of online commentary on SFF from all corners of fandom. The articles included here have been specially and carefully curated by the editors to celebrate diversity and change, showcasing the best of SFF in its many forms. Includes my essay "Becoming Gandalf."

Published by Book Smugglers Publishing

“Blood Matters: Growing Up in an SF/F House”

Kindle

What's it like to grow up in an SF&F household? Several authors join me to discuss childhood, parenting, and their lifelong love of SF&F.

Published by Uncanny Magazine

“The Penelope Qingdom”

Kindle Goodreads Payhip Weightless Books Read Online

For fans of Stranger Things, The Chronicles of Narnia, and Ken Liu’s “The Paper Menagerie,” “The Penelope Qingdom” is a love letter to growing up, ’80s Saturday morning cartoons, Dungeons & Dragons, and falling in love for the first time.

Published by Mothership Zeta

Reviews & Accolades

"[The Penelope Qingdom] captures a nice feel of youth and young relationships and offers a story with a great and lingering magic that looks at how the stories people build together, the fantasies they share, can be foundational to their relationship." - Charles Payseur, Quick Sip Reviews

"Deeply touching ... The writing quality is excellent: the narration is transparent, the dialog is flawless." Rocket Stack Rank