After centuries of calm, the Nameless One is stirring.

An army is gathering; thousands of giants, ogres, and other creatures are joining forces from all across the Desolate Lands, united, for the first time in history, under one black banner. By the spring, or perhaps sooner, the Nameless One and his forces will be at the walls of the great city of Avendoom.

Unless Shadow Harold, master thief, can find some way to stop them.

Epic fantasy at its best, Shadow Prowler is the first in a trilogy that follows Shadow Harold on his quest for a magic Horn that will restore peace to the Kingdom of Siala. Harold will be accompanied on his quest by an Elfin princess, Miralissa, her elfin escort, and ten Wild Hearts, the most experienced and dangerous fighters in their world…and by the king’s court jester (who may be more than he seems…or less).

Reminiscent of Moorcock’s Elric series, Shadow Prowler is the first work to be published in English by the bestselling Russian fantasy author Alexey Pehov. The book was translated by Andrew Bromfield, best known for his work on the highly successful Night Watch series.

A few weeks ago I offered up the cover art and a synopsis for Shadow Prowler, the first translated work from Russian author Alexey Pehov, and the first volume of The Chronicles of Siala.

Any time a Fantasy novel is translated from another language, it peaks my interest and suggests that there’s something special there, worth the extra effort, and Shadow Prowler caught my attention for that reason. Now, thanks to Pat’s Fantasy Hotlist, we can read the first chapter for free.

Shadow Prowler will hit shelves in February, 2010 from Tor Books.

  • renasko January 19, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    Hahaha, that sounds awful!

  • RedEyedGhost January 19, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    I’m with renasko, that’s sounds terrible.

  • Matt June 29, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    Yes, the jacket blurb makes it sound pretty blah/contrived, but I’m about 130p in and I’m enjoying it, and I’m not easy to please.