The Crippled God by Steven EriksonCourtesy of The Wertzone, we’ve not got a title and a simple synopsis for Steven Erikson’s next novel.

Erikson revealed that his next book will be The Forge of Darkness,, the first book in the Kharkanas trilogy, set in the Tiste Andii home city of Kharkanas hundreds of thousands of years before the events of Gardens of the Moon.

The Forge of Darkness doesn’t ring so nicely as some of his previous titles, but fans will be happy to know that the book exists. Some have likened the title to a generic Forgotten Realms novel and, hey! who knows, maybe we’ll see Erikson open up the world to the Philip Athans, R.A. Salvatores and Elaine Cunninghams of the world.

I’m just kidding Malazan fans. Chill out.

That said, Adam also has news of Ian Cameron Esslemont’s next novel set in that same universe:

Esslemont also confirmed that his fourth Malazan novel will be set in Darujhistan, picking up after the events of Erikson’s Toll the Hounds with characters like Kruppe playing a major role. The remaining two books will be set in Jacuruku and the oft-mentioned, never-seen continent of Assail.

It’s a good time to be a Malazan fan!

  • Patrick (YetiStomper) November 1, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    I’m confused. I thought that The Crippled God was the last Malazan book…

  • aidan November 1, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    The Crippled God is the final volume of the current Malazan series titled Malazan Book of the Fallen. This is a new trilogy, set in the same world, with a new title. Not to be confused with ICE’s stand alone novels that complement Erikson’s Malazan Book of the Fallen.

    Makes sense, right?